About New Scotland

On April 25, 1832, the Town of New Scotland was created by an act of state legislature.

The Town of New Scotland consists of 58 square miles. Its population has grown from 2,030 in 1835 to almost 9,000 in 2010. The village and hamlets of the town include: 

  • Clarksville
  • Feura Bush
  • New Salem
  • New Scotland
  • Onesquethaw
  • Unionville
  • Voorheesville

There are six school districts within the towns:
We have two municipal parks:
  •  Stephen P. Wallace Park
  •   Feura Bush Park

Thacher State Park is also in the Town of New Scotland along with Five Rivers Environmental Conservation.

 The Town of New Scotland has the following special districts:

  • Clarksville Water District
  • Colonie Country Club Estates Water District
  • Feura Bush Water District
  • Font Grove Water District
  • Heldervale Water & Sewer District
  • Northeast Water District
  • New Salem Water District